I was in a chili mood, and it is a good trick to get a chili that satisfies both vegetarians and meat lovers.  I made the Chili Fest Chili from my trusty Moosewood Restaurant Cooking for Health cookbook (page 222).

First you saute onions and green peppers in oil.

Then you add celery and carrots, which tasted wonderful.  However, some find it hard to accept celery and carrots in chili, so I will probably leave them out in future renditions to keep the traditionalists happy.

Then you add a ton of spices including molasses.

I used all kidney beans, however using two or three different beans would be a great variation.  I think next time I might try kidney and black beans. Also, next time I might add something to add a meat like texture such as Morning Star Meal Starters Crumbles to keep the meat lovers happy.

The recipe called for a yogurt cilantro topping, but I used a reduced fat sour cream, since I love sour cream with chili. I also added some cheddar and avocado chunks. Mmm mmm.  And I was super lucky since I got to eat the left overs too. :)

