I have always preferred one pot cooking, and soups fit that requirement just right. In the winter time soup with a hearty bread and a salad works well for me. I have been checking out the soups on Heidi Swanson’s blog, 101 Cookbooks. Recently I made the soup she featured in a photograph on her Fall Favorites 2010 list.  It was much better than I expected, so I was eager to try the soup recipe Heidi featured as her New Year Noodle Soup. She adapted a recipe from Saraban: A Chef’s Journey through Persia by Greg and Lucy Malouf.

The soup used three types of beans, vegetable broth and small egg noodles.

Spices include onions, chili pepper, salt, pepper, cumin, tumeric, and fresh dill, cilantro and spinach.

Just before serving you top off the soup with carmelized onions, fresh lime juice, sour cream and a few toasted chopped walnuts.

Yum.

©Copyright 2011

