I have three different fabric projects in the works.  Every quilter knows three is not too bad!  I am excited about each of them, and they are all at different stages. One is well into planning and on the verge of being started, one is being pieced now, and the third is on the long arm ready to be quilted.  Today I will tell you about the one in the planning stages. Until it gets an official name I will call it my Fantasy Landscape.

I don’t talk about it very often on my blog, because it is something a limited number of people seem able to relate to, but I am very interested in virtual worlds. They create amazing opportunities for creativity, collaboration, education, and meeting people from all over the world. I have a friend who I met in Second Life in April of 2007. We are currently working together on two versions of a quilt. We wanted to work on a landscape quilt in sections with each of us swaping some of our panels, making two versions of the same quilt.  (In the November 2008 Quilting Arts, on the cover and on page 58, you can see an example of a landscape in five panels completed by five quilters.) We spent months photographing various landscapes within the virtual world of Second Life (sl).  We never could settle on one image for our project and eventually decided it was because they were so realistic and we wanted to do something a little different.  So my friend created her own fantasy landscape scene in sl. Then we each photographed it numerous times with various light and environmental settings until we had an image that pleased us both.

We took the image and applied a grid to it.

Then I took my copy of the photo and traced an outline of the basic shapes of each panel on a transparency.

I made a transparency for each panel, and then

I copied each transparency on to paper.  I am not sure if this step was necessary, but I took the paper copies to a copy center and

enlarged each panel to be the same size as the finished fabric panels will be.  This will assist in design and in utilizing different construction methods such as paper piecing or fusing.

We have one fabric that we are using in common which will assist us in creating a color palette that will work well for trading panels for the two resulting quilts.  I am very excited about this project.  My next step is to pull together the rest of the fabrics and decide on which methods I will use for each panel.

©Copyright 2011

