Rene of Rene Creates had demoed to our quilt group how to make Spider Web blocks, and I was inspired to use them in my next  quilt.  A number of quilters give instructions or tutorials on how to paper piece or foundation piece these blocks. With only a slight modification I am using the method that Rene used which is demonstrated in an online tutorial by A La Mode. I love the double pattern effect that you get when you lay the blocks out.

Hmm. You might want to know what modification I am making to the foundation method.  I did not want to do the paper piecing method, because I did not want to tear off paper from an entire quilt.   It would have been ok for something smaller like a pillow.  I liked the idea of the foundation method, but I did not want to waste a lot of the beautiful fabric that I had selected for the center by trimming it away from the two far corners on every triangle.  So I am using the foundation method with a simple white fabric foundation. I created a plastic template to cut the center fabric from a beautiful pale blue print, which I lay  down on the background fabric, before I begin to start strip piecing.

This shows the plastic template I made for cutting the center pieces, and a few center pieces which have been cut with the template, and one foundation triangle with a center piece of fabric and one strip piece.

I managed to get some work done on these at our guild’s last Sew Day.

Here are strips of fabric ready to be sewn and

here are a few triangles ready to be sewn into blocks.

But no more peeking until it is pieced and ready to quilt!

©Copyright 2011

