I am still recovering from a most wonderful four days of what I am thinking of as Shibori Madness.  I stumbled into a group called Focus on Fiber and joined them for a few days of their annual retreat which was held at the Atlantic Center for the Arts.  I had the incredible opportunity to study for four days with Wendy Smith-Wood, fiber artist, of Sheep Mountain, Alaska.

Wendy hams it up with her model pose.

 

The architecture at the Atlantic Center for the arts adds to the ambience.

The signage kept me laughing.

The food by Chef Sue of New Smyrna Beach was so wonderful that I only remembered to take a photo this one time.

One night everyone brought samples of their work to share with everyone else.

Come on now, have you ever seen more beautiful clothes lines?  I bet a lot of people don’t even know what clothes lines are.  I know when I saw clothes pins on the supply list I wondered if they were even made and sold anymore.

The last six images are things that I made during class using any combination of the following: Arashi Shibori, block resist, and Ori Nui Shibori.

©Copyright 2012

