The Quilt Show took place in Jacksonville, Florida on September 26, 27, and 28, 2012 at the Prime F. Osborne III Convention Center.

Best in Show was won by Pamela McIntyre of Gainesville (all locations are in Florida unless specified otherwise) for “Sunshine” which was paper pieced as well as fuse appliqued.

There were so many wonderful quilts, that I really had to limit myself in how many I photographed.  So many fantastic quilts including award winners are not represented in my posts. The ones that I show in Parts I and II caught my attention for a variety of reasons.

The next very colorful quilt is ” Harlequin Summer” which is a Florida Cabin Fever Guild quilt entered by Joyce Johnson and long arm quilted by Lisa Mullins.

I  loved the red swirly design on “Bursting Swirls” by Shirley Pope of Tampa.

“Where’s the Beach” is another collaborative quilt. It is by Kathy Rutherford, Anna Varner, Bonnie Helm, June Rittscher and Mary Anne Dennis. It is quilted by Bob Provencher.

“One Hundred Years at Rest” commemorating the 100th anniversary of the loss of the Titanic is by Nikki Hill of St. Augustine. It won a first place ribbon for Large Art Quilts.

“Oh My Gosh” by Hillary Wellborn of High Springs won a first place ribbon for Large Pieced Quilts.  Amazingly it contains 9,941 pieces that are between one half an inch to two inches. It was quilted by Patty Butcher.

“Dream Truck” made by Mary Carrico and quilted by Ken Carrico interested me in that not only did it contain 8,300 pieces it was a pixelated image of Ken’s dream truck “computed” by Wendy Lewis.

“Batik Sampler,”made by Charlene Gustin of Papillion, Nebraska, while visiting in Florida, and quilted by Dwynette Valenti, won a ribbon for Best Machine Quilting. I don’t have a good image of the overall quilt, but instead I have some closeups which show that each section is quilted differently.  Not only is it a batik sampler it is also a stitching sampler.

The overall design and colors of “Garden of Dogwoods” by Mary Jo Kuhn really attracted my attention.  Then upon looking closer I also appreciated that the dogwood blossoms were 3 D additions.

“The Doll Maker, Nassau” by Traci Mims of Orange Park, also has a 3 D element in the dolls added to the bottom edge of the quilt.

“Space Dust and Other Junk” by Mary DeWind of Palm Coast is a pleasing example of an embellished quilt.

There were a number of embellishments on “Sunshine Scrap Baskets” by Sunnie Malesky of Jacksonville.  I was most amused by the red glasses.

The elephant tails and ears were 3 D elements on “Elephant Walk-Choose Your Own Path” by Jomaire Monsoro of Jacksonville.

The last two quilts I just had to include because they have mermaids.  I am sure I was a mermaid in another life. :) The first one, “Storytime” by Michelle Reinhard of Winter Park, is a QuiltFest Challenge Quilt. The final one is “Mermaid Sisters” by Michelle Dinges of Jacksonville.

Part II to be posted tomorrow!

:)

©Copyright 2012

