“Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.” ~Lao Tzu

IMG_2443

Nature has its own schedule.  And I was a bit behind it.  So instead of growing my own arugula I decided to rely on my local food coop for this beautiful arugula and sorrel.

IMG_2448

The plants in the raised bed have been thriving, growing faster than I expected.  I have watered them frequently.

IMG_2449

Last years oregano has gone wild, the other potted herbs are growing and I have added some lettuce and cilantro. I bought a spray head for the hose at the local garden center.  Can you love garden equipment?  It was wonderful for watering and for patio clean up. If I don’t watch out I might start planting larger beds where the grass is now.

IMG_2450

I was excited to find the first evidence of a tomato.

IMG_2451

Pepper plants are blossoming.

IMG_2453

The thai basil suddenly has these purple tops. I suspect I need to pinch these off to keep the plants from going to seed too early.  I love basil and want to keep these going a lot longer. But the color contrast is so pretty. Oh well, bye bye purple flowers.

“In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt.” ~Margaret Atwood

©Copyright 2013

