“Look before you leap; for snakes among sweet flowers do creep.”

~German Proverb

IMG_2457

What a day for packages; so many at once!

IMG_2562

It might not look very exciting to you, but threads, pre-wound bobbins, pfd (prepared for dyeing) fabric, tjanting tools, beeswax, paraffin and a frame for batik/fabric painting!

IMG_2469

This is my backyard hose.  I always look at it very very carefully before picking it up.  Why?  Well I have been watchful ever since last year when a snake of the same color was coiled up right beside it.

IMG_2473

Today when I went to water the kitchen garden again a snake was curled up next to the hose.  Of course I did not have my camera with me when I was watering the garden, so I had to run into the house to get it.  The snake was not in the least bit shy; it actually seemed a bit aggressive to me, first raising up, and then coming towards me.

IMG_2508

This photo was taken from the safety of the screened porch. (Yes, I am aware that this is not a dangerous snake. But I don’t ever need to get any closer to it.)

IMG_2507

I had already given up the area shown above over to the snakes.  It is so thick, I knew they lived there.

IMG_2477

Recently I rescued a few garden ornaments from snake territory.

IMG_2554

The first gardenia.

IMG_2500

IMG_2578

The first magnolia blossom.

©Copyright 2013

