Here are a few last photos from my Chicago trip. Some are simply drive by shots taken from the car window.

IMG_2829 copy

I love architectural details.

IMG_2831 copy

IMG_2840 copy

This was on the side of a bakery.  I kept thinking about the bakery where Ronny Cammareri (played by Nicolas Cage) worked in the movie Moonstruck.

IMG_3026 copy

IMG_3040

Now if any company’s building is to have a plaid pattern on it, what company do you think it should be?

IMG_2989 copy

It seems so unusual to catch the rays of sunlight as they are shown above.

IMG_2981 copy

IMG_4019 copy

IMG_2986 copy

For dinner I made Middle Eastern Chickpeas with Spinach from the Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites.

IMG_3176

I love to see and hear and smell the onions, garlic and peppers sizzling.

IMG_3179

I changed up the recipe by using a hot cherry pepper from my garden. The very last step is to add fresh lemon juice.

IMG_3185

For the dish I used fresh spinach from the local food coop.  I was embarrassed to realize that I have only ever seen spinach leaves already cleaned and removed from the stems.  I never before imagined how the full plant looks.  How detached we can become from the sources of our food.

IMG_3199

The dish, topped off with a garlic yogurt sauce and served over couscous, was served along with left over roasted veggies and a kale and cannellini bean dish made from Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone. And if you were wondering, yes, I am a vegetarian.

©Copyright 2013

