Well, I am not trying to say it is almost winter here in Florida.  It still is very summer like.  If you need some proof, here are a few photos from a trip to the beach a few days ago.

IMG_4525 copy

IMG_4621

IMG_4741copy

IMG_4552

IMG_4431 copy

“Almost Winter” is the name of the wall quilt I completed today.  I have been working on how to incorporate photos into quilts.  These altered photos, taken in the mid-west last fall, feel like a late fall or early winter sunset. The photos (after being manipulated in photoshop) were printed directly onto a rayon/poly stabilizer pre-treated with various Ink Aid and Liquitex products to create a variety of effects such as heightened color, iridescence, and flakes. I used some Derwent Inktense pencils to have some of the colors run back and forth between the photos and the surrounding fabric.  I also had the stitching on the trees run off the photos onto nearby fabrics.

IMG_4909 copy

What do you think?

©Copyright 2013

