Have you seen the joke (courtesy of Belgium cartoon artist, Canary Pete) going around the internet; the one in which a prospective employee arrives for a job interview at Ikea and the chair in the office is in parts on the floor?

Ikea-job-interview

Well, Ikea can just hire me, no assembly test required.  Over the course of a few days I have gone from a grumbling, tool dropping, directions-upside-down assembler to an efficient, confident and competent workman. If I assemble anything else, I am going to have the part numbers memorized.

On and off for months I have studied the Ikea catalog looking for furniture to better organize my fabric studio. And during the mayhem of Christmas and family, movie watching, cookie baking, an auto accident, insurance claims, and the purchase of a new vehicle, I ventured into the Ikea store and purchased several pieces of furniture.  And let’s just summarize by saying that one piece was assembled per day.

The first piece put together slides under my sewing machine table.

IMG_5953

The second storage unit fits under my work table and has enough room for me to also house the light box under the table.

IMG_5956

The third piece of furniture holds my various quilting magazines, dyeing and surface design videos, a Holly Hobbie sewing machine and three tjaps. Yes, it is true that the bookshelf is almost wedged into a corner between a fabric cabinet and an old card catalog that holds threads and notions, but seriously the items now on the shelves were spread out in two rooms before.

IMG_5962

When I finally thought I was all finished building furniture, I spied another disorganized space that had room for some help.

IMG_5964

So I went and purchased and assembled a last piece of storage furniture. And now I am truly ready to work in the assembly and delivery department at Ikea, maybe in Sweden. Hmm. Som skulle vara bra.

IMG_5973

And I do confess that furniture was not the only thing I looked at while shopping in Ikea.  I found a glass on a display that I really liked.  When I finally found where it was located in the store, I discovered it was 66% off.  So I bought 16 instead of 6. : )

IMG_5982

And while I am confessing, I have to admit that all this organizing did have to come out of my fun-with-fabric time.  So my latest project has been on hold. There should be more on this soon.  For now, here is a little sneak peak.

IMG_5969

©Copyright 2013*

*The Ikea cartoon is by Canary Pete, a cartoon artist from Belgium.

