Life just rushes on without a pause. Unrealistically I always think there will be some time to catch up, but guess that is not the way it works.  So while I can’t take a break to catch up on all the things I need to get done, I can pause a moment to let you know what is going on in my life.

The weather is at that confusing stage in Florida. One day it feels like summer and the next it feels like fall.  I have actually had to wear a jacket a few times, but that does not mean I won’t be back wearing sandals again in a few days. Currently I have a few azaleas and a beautiful display of camellias blooming in the yard.

IMG_7139

I had a great time attending the Festival of the Trees.  The trend in trees seemed to be to have a big topper.

IMG_7113 - Version 2

IMG_7109

My photo doesn’t capture the complete loveliness of the underwater tree with one huge fishing wrapping around the tree from bottom to top complete with sea life and a school of small fish.

IMG_7130

Our quilt guild designed and created a Christmas quilt donated to raise funds for the Orlando Museum of Art.

IMG_7119 - Version 2

Picking up my new computer I found the mall all decked out for the holidays. (My belated shopping has been online.)

IMG_7181

IMG_7184

I had the pleasure of taking a class with the talented Victoria Findlay Wolfe. She was generous in sharing her techniques and tips and it was great to see some of her work up close.

IMG_7189

IMG_7209

Victoria was curious about and took some photos of a wig shop next to a restaurant we went to for dinner. I persuaded her to go in the shop for a quick photo.  She managed to keep a straight face for most of the photos I snapped.

IMG_7211

I am getting more serious about my quilting.  I will be participating in Jane Dunnewold’s Art Cloth Mastery program which is a two and a half year commitment.  The first week long session is in San Antonio this coming February, and I have work to do to prepare for it. I also decided to work on fewer, but larger fabric projects.  I am working on one now that I will not show until later.  I have been working on the design for around a month now. These are little sneak peaks that won’t give anything away.

IMG_7221

IMG_7220

All of these photos were taken on my phone.  Amazing how far the technology has come.  I remember not that many years ago wishing and dreaming for a phone, computer and camera rolled into one.  Silly me.  It is just an everyday object taken for granted now.

And the very best update of all is that this beautiful couple…

sandr

is making me into a grandmother.

: )

© 2014

