I wanted to challenge myself to make something on a larger scale than I usually work.  I selected one of my Florida nature photos, drew a grid over it and then outlined the main elements on a 3 foot by 4 foot piece of muslin also with a drawn grid.

IMG_7097

I had to figure out what sections of the design needed to be applied first and what was best to add latter.  I started with the water and then started working around the fabric section by section.

IMG_7101

I had a large selection of fabrics for my color palette, and I used several types of fusing material.  If only I had used only the lightest fuse for the entire project perhaps the quilt would have been softer to the touch and maybe I could have quilted it with the long arm instead of my home machine. Both before and after the project was quilted I added some shadows and highlights with acrylic paints thinned with water or fabric extender.

IMG_7088 copy

My secret spice was the use of several watercolors by my oldest son which I printed on fabric with my new Epson (Stylus Pro 3880) and inserted into the design in several places becoming the hidden gems. I was elated with how well the new printer worked on fabric.

alligatorsmcr

 

palm treessm

And after what felt like forever, this is the resulting wall hanging.

IMG_1459med

Of course when you are done with a big project, you see both the things that turned out better than you expected as well as where you might have done things differently.

What do you think?

© 2015

