I have had a lot of practice mixing colors (textile paints) …

Paint

…and I have some fresh goodies from the garden for testing out some of those recipes …

Garden

…in the new cookbooks I just received.

cookbooks

Now that the present has been opened, I can share the baby quilt I made.

Steam Punk_1650

This is the fabric on the backside.

steampunkbackside_1666

The pattern is Steam Punk. You might think Steam Punk should be in dusty, dark colors, but I selected tropical, happy colors in a fabric line with a sea life theme. The organic fabric from Monaluna is from the “Under the Sea” Collection.

steampunkcloser_1659

The quilt block pattern is by Australian designer Jen Kingwell and you can see many examples of how the block has been made on this special Flickr group.

If you think you might want to make this block, there is a tutorial on Fret Not Yourself. Wish I had read it BEFORE I made my blocks.

Anyway these are all things that are making me happy these days. : )

ยฉ 2015

