sIMG_1596med jrrmed

In August I flew to California to see baby Jasper. Besides finding a beautiful, good natured child pictured above with proud parents, I also discovered uncooked tortillas. It just takes 30 seconds on each side to heat each one. It is hard to find them where I am in Florida, but I did discover a supply and so for several weeks I went on a fajita cooking frenzy. I found several meat substitutes that worked well with the fajita mixture; one is the Tofurkey Chorizo Style (ground) and another that worked well is Sweet Earth’s Chipotle Style Seitan (strips or ground). With the fajitas I served both homemade salsa and homemade avocado salsa, recipes from Moosewood Restaurant Favorites.

IMG_7933med IMG_7939med

Following my trip to California, I travelled to Texas for the class I go to every six months. When I returned from my trip to Texas I received from Amazon what is my newest favorite cookbook, Near and Far by Heidi Swanson.  So my cooking frenzy has been diverted to a different style of cooking which has involved turmeric and cauliflower and various beans, cheeses, pastas and creme fraiche.

IMG_8082med

Before heading to Texas I had a number of projects to complete.

medSizeRender

I had a huge dye project in which I took fabrics of various shades of grey and over-dyed them with undiluted primary and secondary colors.  I used cotton, silk and rayon. The resulting colors were often very rich.  What a great way to get a collection of fabrics that would all work well together out of one or two dye pots.

IMG_8081med

I also had to produce a series of surface design pieces. This is a stack of whole cloth pieces with dye and textile paints.  I will probably finish three of them with backing and batting and stitching.  I don’t know yet which might be stitched on the long arm and which might be better with hand stitching.  While I enjoyed the process of seeing the layers build up into the final design, I plan to completely change direction this time around.

A few random photos from my trip to Texas.

IMG_8027med IMG_8047med IMG_7999med

In preparation for my next work I am gathering together an assortment of things which includes quilt templates, spackle and a sander.  You’ll just have to be patient while I experiment a bit with my ideas.

© 2015

