Around the holidays there was talk about the idea of someday moving to the beach.

IMG_8271-med.jpg

As soon as agreement was reached that we would do that “someday,” we found a house we liked a few doors away from the ocean.  (OK I confess I have been looking online a few years.) Exactly thirty days later the house was ours.

IMG_8321-med.jpg

First thing I did was changed that green wall (partially shown above) to a neutral color. That project was followed by removing the hideous orange entry tile (shown towards the left) …

IMG_7790med.jpg

… with an Italian tile that looks like sun bleached wood. Then a couple of fans looking like they came from the Eighties had to go.

IMG_8436-med.jpg

Yes.  This was much better.

IMG_7792med.jpg

Oh but please don’t ask me how hard it was to empty out the old house or how much time it took to get it empty or how much it cost to re-pipe, repair and repaint the old house.  On the flip side we got two offers within hours of putting it on the market.

The big pay off for months and months of work is coastal skies and the incredible sense of peace and exhilaration I feel at the ocean …

IMG_7675med.jpg

IMG_7712med.jpg

IMG_8376-med.jpg

… as well as the awe I feel when simply standing in my backyard at night listening to the ocean waves.

FullSizeRender-3.jpg

The icing on the cake to all of these wonderful recent changes was getting to exhibit a mixed media quilt that means a lot to me.

IMG_7658med.jpg

©2016

 

